Business Management Programs/Funding Resources

Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence

Producers, processors and agri-food organizations are encouraged to apply for the Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence. There are 50 awards available including: 

  • Premier’s Award (one award valued at $75,000)
  • Minister’s Award (one award valued at $50,000)
  • Leaders in Innovation Award (three awards valued at $25,000 each)
  • Provincial Award (45 valued at $5,000 each)

Applications will be accepted direct from the following, as long as eligibility criteria is met:

  • Primary Producers / Farmers
  • Food Processors
  • Agri-Food Organizations

Applicants are encouraged to focus their application on one innovative project per year. Applications who are successful or unsuccessful in one year are eligible to re-apply the following year.

Applications are evaluated based on several criteria, including:

  • Impact or Benefits – What is the innovation’s economic and/or social benefit to Ontario’s agri-food
  • Uniqueness and Originality – How did the innovation come to be? How unique is the innovation?
  • Development – How did the idea turn from concept to a completed product/project?
  • Operational Benefits – How is the innovation benefiting the agri-food sector and the province?
  • Adoption and/or Commercialization – Is the innovation successful? Has it been adopted by others?
  • Broader Use – Does the innovation have potential for use on a broader basis? Does it have potential to positively effect on the agricultural industry?

The Program Guidebook and Application are available at:

Successful applications from previous years can be found here:

Application deadline is Friday, May 25, 2018.

If you have any questions or require additional information, contact Darlene Harrietha at 519-826-4847 or


0 comments on “Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: